Reed Wins Three Straight In Figure Eight

Wednesday, May 30, 2012 at 3:25pm Written by:

It was a warm Memorial Day weekend, but it did not keep the fans and drivers away.  Those that braved the heat and spent their evening at the track were treated to great racing in every division and undoubtedly one of the more exciting Parking Lot Drag races in years!  Winning the first parking lot drag event of 2012 was Noah Barnhouse of Painesville in his 2005 Saturn Ion.

 Spee-D-Metals Limited Late Model Division

Since the second week of the season Billy Roberts and his Habco Tool/ Top Notch Fabrication Chevrolet Impala has been the fastest car at the track.  Over the last three weeks Roberts has set the fast time and currently holds the track record for the Spee-D-Metals Limited Late Model division.  Although he has been the fast qualifier for the last three weeks and owns the track record, Roberts is still seeking to find victory lane.  Winning the dash race for the night was point’s leader Keith Platz.  Army veteran Charles Durst took his first wins of the season in the heat and pursuit races.  Durst and Platz lead the field to the green, but neither could keep Duane Bates from getting to the front.  Once Bates took the lead on lap two it smooth sailing as he drove to his first win of the season.  Roberts made found his way around Durst for second, but there was no getting around Bates.  He becomes the forth different winner this season and moved to within four points of Platz for the points lead.

 Way’s Custom Welding Street Stock Divsion

Joe Coursen Victory May 26Fresh off a feature win from last weekend, Earl Goldy came back this weekend to take the fast time and set a new track record.  This was the second time this season he has set the track.  However, being the fastest car means starting in the back at Lake County Speedway and gives a driver a challenge to finding victory lane.  Josh Way has found victory lane numerous times this season and for the fourth week in a row took home the dash win.  He also took home a win in one a heat race.  Johnny Canter was a winner in the other heat and also won the pursuit race.  Canter and Fred McCord brought the field to the green flag.  Canter led the first lap of the race before Rodney Reynolds came from the third position to take the lead.  Reynolds held the lead for a good amount of the race.  It was not until lap 18 that he broke out of his qualifying time and was sent to the tail of the field.  That gave way to Joe Coursen, who had come all the way from the back of the field.  The breakout of the Reynolds gave Coursen open track and he used every inch to hold off Goldy en route to his second win of the season.  Way finished in third, Canter fourth, and Scott Skufca rounded out the top five.  The win for Coursen added to his points lead, which is now sixteen points over Goldy.

 Figure Eight Division

As the title of this article stats, Reed indeed won his third straight Figure Eight race.  That is not all.  Over the last three weeks he has set fast time and the track record.  Chad Davis took his first win of the season, in only his second week back racing, by winning the dash race.   Mike Davis and Jason Simak were the night’s heat winners.  Davis also took the win in the pursuit race, his second pursuit win in a row.  The action started off quick in the feature.  An altercation between Reed, Simak, and Joe March on lap one found Simak in a tire and later out of the race.  March also left the track with handling issues.  Davis jumped out to an early lead in the race, but Sadar got his car under control and took over the lead from Davis.  It only took five laps before Reed found his way to the back bumper of Sadar’s car.  The two ran bumper to bumper before contact took Sadar out and Reed gained control of the race.  Once in the lead Reed blasted off to a huge lead and eventually his third victory of the year.  Joe Malek took second, his best finish of the season, Sadar was third, Randy Lette was fourth, and Davis rounded out the top five.

Sam & Tommy’s Factory Four Division

Kelly Horst was the fastest car on the night.  It was the first time since May 5th that Matt Weigand was not the fastest qualifier, or set a track record.  Gary Eubanks started his first night back in two years with a dash win.  Joe Combs, Josh Bee, and Horst were heat winners and Matt McCord took the win in the pursuit race.  Cory Flander, along with Jack Hribar, led the field to the green flag to start the B main.  Flander took the early lead, but was soon passed by Mike Liddy.  Liddy kept the lead and held off Combs and Bee for his first win of the season.  The win moves him into fifth in the standings.  TJ Schinke and Jim Harkins made up the front row for the A main.  The two stayed up front, with Jim Harkins leading the entire feature.  However, Harkins would lose the feature win due to a rule infraction.  Schinke, who originally finished second, was credited with the win.  Matt Weigand would take second, Gary Drake Jr. third, McCord would finish fourth, and Dylan Atwell was fifth.  Weigand maintained his point lead, but Horst was able to bring it to 66 points.

Renegade Eight Division

Mike Reed has not only been the leader in the Figure Eight division, but also the Renegade Eights.  He has the most wins in the class and had a large points lead going into the night.  2010 Street Stock Figure Eight champion Allen Filkins started the evening by winning the dash race.  In the heat race it was Reed beating Filkins for the win.  Jeff Smith, making his first appearance of the season, won the pursuit race.  Smith started on the pole alongside Filkins for the feature.  Smith took the early lead, but did not get much time to enjoy it.  Chris Morgan made it from the back of the pack to take the lead in only three laps.  In the same amount of time it took him to take the lead, Morgan checked out and cruised his way to victory.  The win came only one week after his second place finish last weekend.  Allen Filkins took second, Allen Filkins Jr. was third, Reed fourth, and Ryan Brenner came in fifth. 

The staff and management at Lake County Speedway would like to thank the fans and drivers that came out this past weekend and give a special thanks to all the members of our military and veterans that joined us.  We would like to welcome everyone back this coming weekend for Heroes Night and the ARCA truck series.  Come back to see the ARCA trucks make their first of two stops at Lake County Speedway, to run a 100 lap feature.  Last season the trucks put on one of the best shows of the season and are bound to have a repeat performance! 

For our complete schedule, results, and up to date points check out Be sure to like us on Facebook for more LCS information.

No Comments

Leave a Response

500 Fairport Nursery Road, Painesville, OH 44077 • • 440.354.3505 •  Cleveland Advertising