Champions of 2011 Honored, Racetrack Receives Award for Involvement

Monday, November 14, 2011 at 6:22pm Written by:

Champions of 2011 HonoredIt was a packed house at Dino’s Banquet center in Willoughby as hundreds of drivers, crew members, fans, and officials shared the same room to celebrate the end of a great 2011 season.  Every driver that competed this season was honored and rewarded for their involvement and efforts.  Though for five drivers it was a night to celebrate a year of sweat, tears, and so much more that they endured on their way to the tracks top prize, a championship.

There were some familiar faces that took championships this season, most notably Joe Coursen who was last year’s Figure Eight champion.  Coursen joins Randy Holbrooks Jr. as the only driver in track history to win a championship in three divisions.  He was not the only driver making another trip to receive a championship trophy. Chad Tekavic took his second Figure Eight division championship, winning for the second time in his career, his last being in 2000.  Something else worth noting about the Figure Eight division is the performance of Chuck Sadar. Sadar, who did not win a race in 2011, took runner-up for the second year in a row.

Keith Platz took the Sportsman championship.  Platz won the title in his first full season of competition in the division. Platz spent the 2010 season racing in the street stock class at Lorain County Speedway.  He was honored to win the title, saying it meant a lot to drive against the drivers he grew up watching race as a kid.

Johnny Canter III took the Factory Four division title, his first title at Lake County Speedway.  He finished in the runner-up position in 2010, but was a contender for the title the entire season.  Canter had a season to remember, winning more races than any driver during the 2011 season.

For Scott Harris it was an accomplishment that had eluded him.  Harris, a former Figure Eight division driver, had won features in the past, but until this season had not won a championship.  It was a dominating effort for him this season, in taking the title for the newly created Renegade Eight class.  In ten feature races for 2010 Harris won eight.

Lake County Speedway would like to thank all of those who attended the 2011 Banquet this past weekend and also thank all of those who competed this season.  More information about the 2012 season will be available in early December.
After giving out awards of their own on Saturday, Lake County Speedway was the recipient on Sunday, as the track was honored for their involvement with the community from 2011.

Victory Lane Assembly of God in Mentor-On-The-Lake awarded Lake County Speedway with an award to express their gratitude in a special service at the church.  The event was free for all those who chose to attend and all those in attendance were treated to an amazing Thanksgiving feast.

To read more on the event click here to read the story written by Bill DeBus from the News Herald.  Lake County Speedway thanks the Victory Lane Assembly of God for their hospitality and also being recognized for our contributions to the surrounding community.

1 Comment

  1. Maverick says:

    That’s really thinking at an imveissrpe level

Leave a Response

500 Fairport Nursery Road, Painesville, OH 44077 • • 440.354.3505 •  Cleveland Advertising